Share Now

Ashtanga Yoga-   Everyone should know these eight fundamentals or terms or limbs when enters the yoga practice.

Man MeditatingYAMA.

The first of the rule of the yoga practice Yama [ ethical disciplines] is the great commandant’s transcending Creed country age and time They are ahimsa[ nonviolence ]Satya [truth ]asteya[ no stealing] brahmacharya [continenence] and aparigraha[ non-coveting]  These commandant’s are the rules of morality for society and the individual, which it is not obeyed bring chaos, violence, untruth, stealing, dissipation, and covetousness.  The roots of these evils are the emotions of greed, desire, and attachment. which may be mild-medium or excessive.  They only bring pain and ignorance.


The second rule of the Ashtanga yoga is Niyama. Niyama is the rules of conduct, that apply to individual discipline,  while Yama is Universal in their application. The five Niyama in listed by Patanjali are Sauchacha [purity] santhosha[ contentment] Tapas[ardor orausterity] swadhaya[ the study of the self ]and  Ishwara Pranidhana, [dedication to the Lord]


Woman Sitting on Round Mat While Twisting Her BodyAsana or posture is the third rule of ashtanga yoga. Asana brings steadiness, health, and lightness of limb. A steady and pleasant posture produces mental equilibrium and prevents fickleness of mind. Asana[posture] merely gymnastic exercises,

they are postures. to perform them one needs the healthy airy place, a blanket, and determination, while for other systems physical training one needs large playing fields and costly equipment. Asana can be done alone, as the limbs of the body provide the necessary weights and counterweights. By practicing them one develops agility, balance, endurance, and great vitality.


Pranayamajust as the word yoga is one of the wide imports so also is Prana. Prana means breath, respiration, life, vitality, wind energy, or strength. it also connotes the soul as opposed to the body. the word is generally used in the plural to indicate vital breaths. Yama means length, expansion, stretching are restraints. Pranayama thus connotes extension of breath and its control. This control is over all the functions of breathing namely[a] inhalation or inspiration which is termed purakha [b]exhalation or expiration which is called rechaka.[c] retention is holding the breath, a state where there is no inhalation or exhalation which is termed kumbhaka. in Hata yoga text kumbhaka is also used in the loose generic sense to include all the three respiratory processes of inhalation, exhalation, and retention.


if a man’s reason succumbs to the pull of his senses he is lost. on the other hand, if there is rhythmic control of breath, the senses instead of running after external objects how to desire turn inwards, and man is set to free from te their tyranny. this is the fifth stage of yoga with the senses are brought under control


when the body has been tempered by Asana when the mind has been defined by the fire of pranayama and when the senses have been brought under control by pratyahara, the senses reach the 6th stage called Dharana, here is concentrated only on a single point or on a task in which is completely engrossed. The mind has to be still in order to achieve this state of complete absorption.


As water takes the shape of its container, the mind when it contemplates an object is transformed into the shape of that object. The Mind which things of the all-pervading divinity with it worship is ultimately through long-continued devotion transformed into the likeness of that divinity.


Samadhi is the end of the yoga practitioners Quest, at the peak of his meditation, he passes into the state of Samadhi where is body and senses are at rest as if he is asleep, his faculties of mind and reason are alert, as if he’s awake, yet he has gone beyond consciousness. The person in the state of Samadhi is fully conscious and alert.

Share Now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: